He ate with Elizabeth Gilbert in Rome

Un Amico Italiano: Eat, Pray, Love in Rome by Luca Spaghetti is a light-hearted memoir by the man who showed writer Elizabeth Gilbert around Rome as she “ate” in her bestselling book, Eat, Pray, Love. He recounts the famous meeting and subsequent eating, at the end of the book. 

Spaghetti’s story is charming: Luca tells of his boyhood in Rome in the 1970s. He recounts in detail playing soccer, failing love with American rock and roll and James Taylor, courtesy of his music-loving uncles, and eating mouth watering Italian home cooking. The ever-sociable Luca spends a lot of time as an informal tour guide to foreign friends he encounters. He loves to show off his home town. The book is full of amusing anecdotes about some of the city’s less-known sites and history.
 
The memoir also includes an account of Luca and his best friend’s first trip to America after university.
 
Luca Spaghetti has a good eye for detail and a stock of amusing tales. Un Amico Italiano: Eat, Pray, Love in Rome  is must read for fans of Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love, and an enjoyable light read for those who love Rome and a good Italian meal.
Share