Mystical summer must-read

TheBookofLifeHarknessClick on top title to open and scroll

If you love sophisticated tales about magic and enchantment this is a summer must -read.

All Souls Trilogy is a sexy, compelling and mysterious journey.


The Book of Life is the final instalment in the bestselling, fantasy All Souls Trilogy from bestselling author Deborah Harkness. The books are a smart, sexy saga about witches, vampires, and demons.


The story revolves around the forbidden love of Diana Bishop, a history professor and powerful witch, and Matthew Clairmont, a magnetic and dangerous vampire geneticist. In the first book, A Discovery of Witches, Diana discovers a rare enchanted book, Ashmole 782, which may hold dangerous and forbidden secrets for witches, vampires, and demons.  Finding the book and falling in love with Matthew Clairmont also unlocks Diana’s powerful abilities as a witch. Diana and Matthew’s love and subsequent marriage also places them in dangers from all but their most loyal friends and family members. Their marriage is forbidden by the Covenant, a powerful council of witches, vampires, and demons, who rule the lives and behavior of “unworldly creatures”. The Covenant has forbidden intermarriage between witches, vampires, and demons.


In Shadow of the Night, the second book in the All Souls Trilogy, Diana and Matthew travel back to Elizabethan England to continue their search for the enchanted book, Ashmole 782, also known as The Book of Life.  Returning to the present, Diana and Matthew must unlock the secrets of The Book of Life or face certain death at the hands of their enemies.


Harkness’s dramatic, compelling tale of witches with ancient spelling-casting powers, vampires with vast wealth, and brilliant demons, is a clever allegory for themes of racism and bigotry. The Book of Life is a delicious read. The tale sweeps across continents as Harkness effortlessly blends magic, science, passion, sex, power, and legend into a spellbinding conclusion.


This book and the All Souls Trilogy are must-reads for all sophisticated afficandos of the genre. Deborah Harkness is a professor of history at the University of Southern California. The Jewel House: Elizabethan London and the Scientific Revolution is her most recent academic publication.


See more at:

To hear the play list that inspired Deborah as she wrote

To hear audioclips


Paperback edition on Sale May 26th!




A Discovery of Witches

Imagine a grownup Buffy the Vampire Slayer or the Da Vinci Code full of witches and vampires and you will have a good idea of what A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness is like. It’s a riveting page-turner full of magic and dark romance. The hefty tome chronicles the meeting of Diana Bishop, the last of a famous family of witches, and a charismatic vampire cum scientist Matthew Clairmont. 

Professor Diana Bishop is doing research in Oxford’s old Bodleian Library when she finds a famous missing volume on alchemy. The book turns out to be enchanted. When Diana accidentally breaks the enchantment she attracts a horde of witches, daemons, and vampires. This is when she meets Matthew Clairmont, a dark mysterious, and charismatic vampire. Diana, has never consciously practiced witchcraft, so she is at a loss when she confronted by so many magical forces. She is also thrown by her attraction to the dark and handsome vampire.

Deborah Harkness is a historian, so — as with the popular Da Vinci Code — she has hidden nuggets of history and obscure facts among her vampires and witches. And her character Diana, like Buffy, is an unwilling but appealing combatant in the metaphysical struggle that ensues.
While a fantasy, A Discovery of Witches is also sophisticated, witty, and well-researched. The characters are compelling and interesting. 
Harkness’ attention to historical and scientific detail brings this fantastic tale well above the level of most books in this general. The writing is impeccable.
A Discovery of Witches is the first book in the All Souls trilogy. I for one am hooked on Deborah Harkness and her mystical tale. Don’t miss this one. Available Feb 1, 2010.